“This work connects us fundamentally to our inner emotions, it is about the intimate. It evokes suffering, pain, love, joy, everything that brings us together. The music draws from deep inside us, and awakens things that we do not control, that grab us and that make us vulnerable. In this sense, it is universal and accessible to all.”
Kader Attou


For more than 20 years, Kader Attou has constantly invented a dance full of images and emotions inspired by the laughter and drama of man. In 1994, he discovered and was overwhelmed by the Symphony n°3 called Plaintive songs, Symfonia Piesni Zalosnych, by the Polish composer Henryk Gorecki.  In 2010, Kader Attou created Symfonia Piesni Zalosnych, a production for ten dancers, with the desire to inscribe his dance in the emotional power of the score. For the first time, he created by focusing on the entirety of the musical work and explored the encounter between hip hop and a form of ballet. Like music stripped of any superfluous effect or ornament, the dance deploys pure moves which dig the ground at the same time as it seeks the interiority and the elevation of beings.

A universal masterpiece, accessible to all.
Ten years later, he revives this production. Because it is still in him. Because it is part of this dancing humanity which embodies his work and the absolute urgency of being alive. In an imbalanced world that still tirelessly produces all kinds of war, this symphony sounds like a fight, a languid march between darkness and glimmer of hope. Often considered a work derived from the Holocaust, Kader Attou rehabilitates Gorecki’s desire to make it, above all, a tribute to the mother, to the woman, to the one who carries the origin of life. This revival strives to reveal the beauty of the lyrics and deepens the tensions between dance and the vibrations of music in order to both unite bodies and multiply their differences. On the tenuous thread of melodies, the dance draws life cycles, attracting the bodies towards the light, being carried by the dazzling crescendo of the strings and the absolute intensity of the soprano which tears the dark sky with its clear voice.

Choreography: Kader Attou
Music: Henryk Mikołaj Górecki Symphonie n°3 pour soprane et orchestre, opus 36
Éditions Chester / Éditions Mario Bois-Paris
Lighting design: Françoise Michel
Costumes : Nadia Genez
Cast: Aïda Boudrigua, Amine Boussa Margaux Senechault, Salem Mouhajir, Ioulia Plotnikova, Sebastien Vela Lopez, Virgile Dagneaux, Vaishali Trivedi, Majid Yahyaoui, Nour Attou

Production : Centre Chorégraphique National de La Rochelle, Kader Attou / Cie Accrorap
Coproduction : Festival Montpellier Danse 2010, La Coursive – Scène Nationale de La Rochelle, Chaillot – Théâtre national de la Danse, Théâtre Jean-Vilar de Vitry-sur-Seine, Grand Théâtre, scène conventionnée pour la danse – Ville de Lorient

Avec le soutien du Conseil Général du Val-de-Marne

“The piece, created for ten dancers, is striking. The very physical dance conveys unexpected emotions. The bodies suffer, confront each other, and then come together in images of brotherhood. The choreography, wrapped in the magnificent lighting by Françoise Michel, exudes a serene harmony. In this music that has accompanied many years of his life, Kader Attou wants to hear laments but also a lot of hope.”
Marie-Valentine Chaudon – LA CROIX

“With ten dancers, the choreographer attempts to embody this delicate score, performed in its entirety. A real challenge where we find his favorite themes such as blending, origins, other cultures, faith, and encounters with others. On a stage shrouded in near-darkness, Attou unravels his hip-hop to weave in another thread, more contemporary and gentler too, with a certain spectral quality in the movement.”
Rosita Boisseau – TÉLÉRAMA

“There are choreographers who, with hip-hop, play with movement at all costs. Kader Attou has moved past this phase: born from hip-hop, it is poetry he now seeks. The ten dancers may well perform in sneakers, the hip-hop shoe, but the choreography throws them into momentum and mystery, supported by the milky chiaroscuro that bathes the stage: races, quests, losses, reunions in a gentleness that seems to exorcise even the very idea of evil or vengeance.”
Ariane Bavelier – LE FIGARO

“The dancers plunge into a profoundly humanistic dance, allowing their individuality to emerge. Inspired by music that swings between lamentations and cries of hope, they compose a committed score from which they seem not to emerge unscathed. The audience does not either.”
Claudine Colozzi – LA VIE

Tours 2010 > 2014


2023

2 June
Le Zef, Marseille

28, 29, 30 June
Montpellier Danse, Opéra Comédie

27 July
Aix-en-Provence, Ballet Preljocaj - Pavillon Noir, Un Air de Danse #2


2024

21 September
Belgique, OPRL Orchestre Philharmonique Royal de Liège

Cie Accrorap
Direction Kader Attou

Reprise 2020
Création Festival Montpellier Danse 2010
Pièce pour 10 danseurs et danseuses

Download artistic brochure

Dates


2024

21 September
Belgique, OPRL Orchestre Philharmonique Royal de Liège

« Cette œuvre nous relie fondamentalement à nos émotions intérieures c’est de l’ordre de l’intime. Elle évoque la souffrance, la douleur, l’amour, la joie, tout ce qui nous rassemble. On a le sentiment qu’elle va puiser au fond de nous, qu’elle éveille des choses que nous ne contrôlons pas et qui nous rendent vulnérables. En ce sens, elle est universelle et accessible à tous. »
Kader Attou


Depuis plus de vingt ans, Kader Attou n’a de cesse d’inventer une danse livrant des images et des émotions que lui inspirent les rires et les drames des hommes. En 1994, il découvre, bouleversé, la Symphonie n° 3 dite des chants plaintifs du compositeur polonais Henryk Gorecki. En 2010, Kader Attou crée Symfonia Piesni Zalosnych, pièce pour dix danseurs, avec le désir d’inscrire sa danse dans la puissance émotionnelle de cette partition. Pour la première fois, il crée en s’attachant à l’intégralité d’une œuvre musicale et explore la rencontre entre le hip hop et la forme du Ballet. À l’instar d’une musique dépouillée de tout effet ou ornement superflu, la danse déploie une gestuelle pure qui creuse le sol en même temps qu’elle cherche l’intériorité et l’élévation des êtres.

Une œuvre universelle, accessible à tous.
Dix ans après, Kader Attou reprend cette pièce. Parce qu’elle est toujours en lui. Parce qu’elle rejoint cette humanité dansante qui fonde son travail, l’urgence absolue de vivre. Dans un monde en déséquilibre qui produit encore et inlassablement toutes sortes de guerre, cette symphonie résonne comme un combat, une marche langoureuse entre ténèbres et lueurs qui s’ouvre sur l’espoir. Souvent considérée comme une œuvre sur la Shoah, Kader Attou réhabilite le désir de Gorecki d’en faire, avant tout, un hommage à la mère, à la femme, à celle qui porte en elle l’origine de la vie. Cette reprise s’attache à révéler la beauté des textes des chants, approfondir les tensions entre la danse et les vibrations de la musique pour à la fois unir les corps et démultiplier leurs différences. Sur le fil ténu des mélodies, la danse dessine des cycles de vie, attirant les corps vers la lumière, se laissant porter par le crescendo fulgurant des cordes et l’intensité de la soprane qui déchire le ciel sombre de sa voix claire.

Chorégraphie : Kader Attou
Musique : Henryk Mikołaj Górecki Symphonie n°3 pour soprane et orchestre, opus 36
Éditions Chester / Éditions Mario Bois-Paris
Lumières : Françoise Michel
Costumes : Nadia Genez
Interprétation : Aïda Boudrigua, Amine Boussa, Capucine Goust, Erwan Godard, Salem Mouhajir, Ioulia Plotnikova, Sébastien Vela Lopez, Nicolas Majou, Vaishali Trivedi, Majid Yahyaoui

Production : Centre Chorégraphique National de La Rochelle, Kader Attou / Cie Accrorap
Coproduction : Festival Montpellier Danse 2010, La Coursive – Scène Nationale de La Rochelle, Chaillot – Théâtre national de la Danse, Théâtre Jean-Vilar de Vitry-sur-Seine, Grand Théâtre, scène conventionnée pour la danse – Ville de Lorient

Avec le soutien du Conseil Général du Val-de-Marne

« La pièce, pour dix danseurs, est saisissante. La danse, très physique, transmet des émotions inattendues. Les corps souffrent, s’affrontent puis se retrouvent dans des images de fraternité. Il ressort de la chorégraphie, enveloppée par les magnifiques lumières de Françoise Michel, une harmonie sereine. Car dans cette musique qui a accompagné de nombreuses années de sa vie d’homme, Kader Attou veut entendre des lamentations mais aussi beaucoup d’espoir. »
Marie-Valentine Chaudon – LA CROIX

« Avec dix danseurs, le chorégraphe tente d’incarner cette partition délicate, donnée dans son intégralité. Un véritable pari où l’on retrouve ses thèmes de prédilection comme le métissage, les origines, les autres cultures, la foi, la rencontre avec l’autre… Sur un plateau plongé dans une quasi-obscurité, Attou délie son hip-hop pour y glisser un autre fil, plus contemporain, plus doux aussi. Avec un je-nesais- quoi de spectral dans le mouvement. »
Rosita Boisseau – TÉLÉRAMA

« Il y a des chorégraphes qui, avec le hip-hop, s’amusent du mouvement à tout prix. Kader Attou a passé cette phase : né du hip-hop, c’est la poésie qu’il traque maintenant. Les dix danseurs peuvent bien évoluer en tennis, La chaussure du hip-hop, la chorégraphie les jette dans l’élan et le mystère, soutenus par les clairs-obscurs laiteux qui nimbent la scène : courses, quêtes, pertes, retrouvailles dans une douceur qui semble exorciser jusqu’à l’idée même du mal ou de la vengeance. »
Ariane Bavelier – LE FIGARO

« Les danseurs plongent dans une danse profondément humaniste laissant émerger leur singularité. Inspirés par une musique entre lamentations et cri d’espoir, ils composent une partition engagée dont ils semblent ne pas sortir indemnes. Le spectateur non plus. »
Claudine Colozzi – LA VIE

Tournées 2010 > 2014


2023

2 juin
Le Zef, Marseille

28, 29, 30 juin
Montpellier Danse, Opéra Comédie

27 juillet
Aix-en-Provence, Ballet Preljocaj - Pavillon Noir, Un Air de Danse #2


2024

21 septembre
Belgique, Liège, Théâtre de Liège

Cie Accrorap
Direction Kader Attou

Reprise 2020
Création Festival Montpellier Danse 2010
Pièce pour 10 danseurs et danseuses

Télécharger le dossier
Download artistic brochure

Dates

21 septembre
Belgique, Liège, Théâtre de Liège